Skip to Content

African Women in Agricultural Research and Development Fellowship Now Accepting Applications

For more details and to apply, visit the AWARD website

The 2012 African Women in Agricultural Research and Development (AWARD) fellowship is now accepting applications. AWARD is a professional development program that strengthens the research and leadership skills of African women in agricultural science, empowering them to contribute more effectively to poverty alleviation and food security in sub-Saharan Africa.

AWARD is funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation and the United States Agency for International Development (USAID). AWARD offers two-year fellowships that include a series of career development resources to:

  • Establish a mentorship for each fellow with a senior scientist
  • Build science skills
  • Develop leadership capacity

AWARD holds training courses in various locations in Africa during the two-year program and covers fellows’ travel costs to attend.


Women agricultural scientists who are nationals of Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, or Zambia, who have completed a bachelor’s, master’s or doctoral degree, particularly in the disciplines listed on the website below, are eligible to apply. There is no age restriction.


For application guidelines, answers to frequently asked questions, and application forms, please visit


Applicants have until September 7, 2012, to apply for an AWARD fellowship. Applications received after the deadline and incomplete applications will not be accepted. Selected fellows will be notified in mid-December 2012.

Successful candidates must be available to attend one of three five-day Mentoring Orientation Workshops to be held in February and March 2013 in Kenya. Dates to be announced.

Related Stories